Cody's Buck, Engdahl, Wagner Named WCA Coaches of the Year

Cody’s Buck, Engdahl, Wagner Named WCA Coaches of the Year

Written by on April 17, 2023

The Wyoming Coaches Association has announced the Coach of the Year Honors for the 2022-23 Winter Sports Season.

The Coaches will be honored at Natrona County High School on Thursday July 20th

Coaches are selected by fellow WCA Coaches.

And now, a look at Cody and area Coaches to be named a Coach of the Year.

Head Coach of the Cody Fillies Basketball team, Chris Wagner, has been named the 4A girls basketball Coach of the Year. This is the second year in a row that Coach Wagner has garnered this accolade.

Sam Buck, Cody Basketball Assistant Coach, was also named a coach of the year. Coach Buck primarily coached the Filly Freshmen basketball team this year.

In addition to them, Cody’s Head Track Coach Bret Engdahl has also been named a Coach of the Year. Coach Engdahl led both the boys and girls indoor track teams to the first ever Class 3A State Championship.

Other area coaches to garner this accolade include:

Jerry Bellmyer- Burlington Boys Head Basketball Coach.

Aaron Abel- Worland Boys Head Basketball Coach

[There are no radio stations in the database]