Cody's McFadden, Kirkham earn Coach of the Year Honors | Big Horn Basin Media

Cody’s McFadden, Kirkham earn Coach of the Year Honors

Written by on December 7, 2021

The Wyoming Coaches Association has released the the list of coaches to earn ‘Coach of the Year’ honors.

The Coaches will be honored in Casper, next July, at the WCA Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet. Coaches are voted on by fellow WCA coaches.

A congratulations goes out to a pair of Cody Coaches: Bronc Football’s Matt McFadden and Filly Cross Country Coach Maggie Kirkham.

Coach McFadden led the Bronc Football team to their second stragith 3A championship while finishing the season a perfect 11-0, a school record. The Broncs have now won 4 of the last 8 3A championships.

Coach Kirkham led the Filly Cross Country team to a 3-peat this season. The Fillies not only won the State Championship for the third year in a row but won every event they raced in and Ava Stafford became the only Filly runner in school history to win the State Title.

Other area coaches winning ‘Coach of the Year’ honors include: Rocky Mountains John Bernhisel for Cross Country, Thermoplis’s Brandon Deromedi for Golf and Shoshoni’s Tony Truempler for Football.

[There are no radio stations in the database]