George Nominee for State Office | Big Horn Basin Media

George Nominee for Secretary of State

Written by on February 26, 2018

A Park County farmer is among the top three nominees to fill the vacant Secretary of State position.
At its meeting on Saturday, the Wyoming Republican Party State Central Committee considered applications from eight people who were interested in taking over the job vacated by former Secretary of State Ed Murray earlier this month. The committee’s responsibility was to narrow the field down to three people, whose names will be forwarded to the Governor for his appointment.
The committee, which consists of the chairman, committeeman and committeewoman from each of Wyoming’s 23 counties, voted to send the following three names to Governor Matt Mead: Ed Buchanan from Torrington, Darin Smith from Cheyenne, and Richard George from Cody.
The person appointed by the Governor will complete Murray’s term, which ends this year. Several people have indicated their intention to run for the office during the general election this fall, including current State Auditor Cynthia Cloud of Cody, state Republican Senator Leland Christensen of Alta, and Cheyenne Democrat James Byrd.

[There are no radio stations in the database]