Dan Gable to be Awarded Medal of Freedom | Big Horn Basin Media

Dan Gable to be Awarded Medal of Freedom

Written by on October 21, 2020

Dan Gable is a fixture in wrestling lore. Now he will become the 17th honoree of the Presidential Medal of Freedom of the Trump Presidency.

The modern iteration of the Presidential Medal of Freedom was established by President John F. Kennedy in 1963 to recognize extraordinary individuals who have made exceptional contribution to America’s national interests, society and culture.

Gable, 71, won three state championships for Waterloo West and two NCAA titles for Iowa State. Gable had a nearly flawless record during his time as prep and collegiate careers, going 181-1, his only loss coming in the 1970 NCAA finals. He won the gold medal at the 1972 Olympics, winning six matches at 150 pounds and didn’t allow a single point.

Following his illustrious competitive career Gable became a coach. He led the University of Iowa wrestling team to 21 consecutive Big Ten titles and 15 NCAA championships from 1976-1997. During his time, he coached 152 All-Americans, 46 National Champions and 12 Olympians who combined to win eight medals.

Put plain and simply, Gable was a winner. This is the first time someone from the wrestling community has been awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Gable was co-coach of Team USA in 2000 when Wyoming’s own Rulon Gardner had his famous upset win against Alexander Karelin.

Speaking of Rulon’s win, check out this highlight here:

Some notable sports figures to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom include Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, Women’s College Basketball Coach Pat Summitt and men’s coach John Wooden.

[There are no radio stations in the database]