Park County Votes 2020: Who? | Big Horn Basin Media

Park County Votes 2020: Who?

Written by on October 30, 2020

There are a lot of names and races on the 2020 Election ballot – who will you be choosing to lead?

Many local candidates are running unopposed: Matt Hall for another four-year term as Mayor, Tim French for a four-year term as State Senator for Senate District 18, Sandy Newsome for another two-year term as State Representative for House District 24.

All of the candidates for Cody City Council are running unopposed: incumbent Jerry Fritz and newcomers Emily Swett and Andy Quick.

Other races have multiple candidates but the same number of open positions. For instance, both Scott Mangold and Lee Livingston are running for four-year terms as County Commissioners. There are two open seats and you can vote for two persons, so both will be elected by default.

The same holds true for Joe Kondelis and Richard Jones – two candidates for two four-year terms as Rural District Supervisor with Cody Conservation. Russell Dwyer is also running for a position as a Rural District Supervisor, but it’s an unopposed race for a two-year term.

Frank Middleton and Glenn Nielson are running for a four-year term as a Trustee At-Large for the West Park Hospital District. Ty Nelson is running unopposed for the four-year term as Trustee 2 Cody.

Four candidates are running for three four-year terms as trustees on the Riverside Cemetery District: Greg Blenkinsop, Tara Hart, Chan Richard, Gary Williams.

The most-populated race is for the four available seats for four-year terms on the Park County #6 School Board. Current trustees Stephanie Bell and Tom Keegan are seeking another two-year on the board, with several others vying for these and two other open seats:

And now for the obvious – the federal candidates.

President Donald Trump and Vice President Michael Pence are on the Republican ticket for election to the presidency, opposed by Former Vice President Joe Biden and Senator Kamala Harris on the Democratic ticket. There are also  Libertarian and Independent candidates on Wyoming’s ballot.

The person you can’t directly vote for? Kayne West.

His name does not appear on Wyoming’s ballot but, as is an option for all positions, a write-in candidate is allowed.

Republican Cynthia Lummis opposed Democrat Merav Ben David for the US Senate seat being vacated by retiring Senator Mike Enzi.

Meanwhile, Republican Liz Cheney defends her seat in the US House of Representatives against Democrat Lynette Grey Bell, Libertarian Richard Brubaker, and Jeff Haggat with the Constitution Party.

A lot of names and open positions – who’s getting your vote?

[There are no radio stations in the database]