Park County Votes, Not Much Changes in 2022 General Election

Park County Votes – And Not Much Changes in the 2022 General Election

Written by on November 8, 2022

The votes have been counted – for nearly every race, incumbents were either reelected or unopposed, which means there aren’t many changes in local and state representation.

In an age of increasing political polarization, the 2022 Midterm Election saw record-breaking participation of voters and candidates. The balance of power in the U.S. House and Senate and several governorships is still being decided.

Nevertheless, in the biennial battle of Red vs. Blue, Wyoming is staying solidly red. And in Park County, many of the sitting incumbents will be keeping their seats for another term.

The Park County Elections Office released the unofficial results of the 2022 General Election around 9:30 p.m. on the Park County Elections Office website. Per state law, the county must submit the results of the election to the Wyoming Secretary of State by 10:30 p.m.

Nearly every incumbent on the ballot of the 2022 General Election won another term.

Wyoming House & Senate

Several incumbents in the Wyoming House retained their seats (all Republicans, most running unopposed): Dan Lauren, Sandy Newsome, David Northrup, and Dalton Banks.

Rachel Rodriguez Williams (Rep) won another term as Representative of House District 50 with 84.76% of the vote. She beat Carrie Satterwhite (Lib.)

In House District 28, incumbent John Winter (Rep) garnered 81.55% of the vote, winning another term and defeating Kimberly Bartlett (Dem.)

Park County offices

Dossie Overfield and Lloyd Thiel each secured another term on the Park County Commission. However, the most votes (7,061 – 32.22% of votes cast) went to the newest commissioner and soon-to-be former sheriff, Scott Steward.

Scott Steward’s brother, Darrell Steward, was elected to succeed him as Park County Sheriff.

Most other county races were won by unopposed candidates.

  • Cody Gortmaker as Coroner
  • Bryan Skoric as Attorney
  • Colleen Renner as Clerk
  • Barbara Poley as Treasurer
  • Pat Meyer as Assessor
  • Debra Caroll as District Court Clerk

There will be no changes on the Park County School District #6 Board of Trustees – all three incumbents were reelected.

Brandi Nelson, Karen Schipfmann-Nielson, and Cathy Roes will continue serving on the Board of Trustees for Cody schools.

The results of several other races – Park County School District #1 Board of Trustees, the mayors of Frannie and Meeteetse, city/town councils, and civic districts – are available on the Park County Elections Office website.


The results of Park County’s votes for state and national races are posted below:

United States Representative

Harriet Hageman (Rep):  7,134 votes – 73.91%

Lynette Greybull (Dem): 1,630 vote 6.89%

Marissa Joe Selvig (Con): 175 votes –  1.81%

Richard Brubaker (Lib): 247 votes –  2.56%

Write-In Totals: 466  votes

Contest Totals 9,883


Mark Gordon (Rep, Incumbent): 7,389 votes – 76.45%

Theresa Livingston (Dem): 1,076 votes –  11.13%

Jared Bales (Lib): 313 votes – 3.24%

Write-In Totals: 887 votes – 9.18%

Contest Totals: 9,883 votes

Secretary of State

Chuck Gray (Rep): 7,690 votes – 94.48%

State Auditor

Kristi Racines (Rep): 8,211 votes – 99.18%

State Treasurer

Curt Meier (Rep): 8,155 votes – 98.78%

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Megan Degenfedler (Rep): 7,235 votes – 76.67%

Sergio Maldonado (Dem): 1,466 votes – 15.54%

[There are no radio stations in the database]