Stampede to be Inducted Into ProRodeo Hall of Fame | Big Horn Basin Media

Stampede to be Inducted Into ProRodeo Hall of Fame

Written by on April 23, 2019

The Cody Stampede has made it into the ProRodeo Hall of Fame.

Yesterday, officials announced the twelve inductees into the 2019 Hall of Fame, one of which is the Stampede Rodeo, which is celebrating its 100th year this summer.

In a statement, Mike Darby, co-president of the Cody Stampede Board, called the honor, quote, “a dream come true,” adding that it gives a deeper appreciation for what’s been going on in Cody for the last 100 years.

The Cody Stampede won the PRCA’s Best Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year in 1998 and 1999, and its arena was where many legends of ProRodeo got their start, such as 1962 World Champion Bull Rider Freckles Brown, as well as rodeo cowboy and musician Chris LeDoux.

Today, the Cody Stampede and the corresponding Xtreme Bulls event boast a combined payout in excess of $400,000 with big names in rodeo production, such as local cowboy and nine-time Bullfighter of the Year Dusty Tuckness, as well as four-time Announcer of the Year Boyd Polhamus. The rodeo also features some top-notch stock by working with three-time Stock Contractor of the Year Frontier Rodeo.

The rest of the 2019 ProRodeo Hall of Fame class consists of Commotion, one of the greatest bucking horses of all time; stock contractors Elra Beutler and his son, Jiggs; four-time world champion team roping heeler Allen Bach; two-time world champion steer wrestler Dean Gorsuch; world champion bull rider Doug “Droopy” Brown; world champion bareback rider Larry Peabody; notable Jerome Robinson; contract personnel Tommy Lucia; and three Women’s Professional Rodeo Association inductees – barrel racers Jimmie Munroe and Sammy Thurman Brackenberry and notable Florence Youree.

The 2019 Hall of Fame awards ceremony will be held in Colorado Springs on August 3rd.

For a full list of this year’s inductees, see this story on our website at

[There are no radio stations in the database]