City Council Candidates all GOP | Big Horn Basin Media

City Council Races Come Down to Primaries

Written by on June 5, 2018

In Park County communities, the City Council elections will most likely be decided in the primaries.
No Democrats filed for any of the City Council seats in Powell, Cody or Meeteetse, so on August 21st, the new slate of Republican City leaders could be decided, barring any write-in campaigns.
In Powell, John Wetzel was the only candidate who filed for the Mayoral position, to complete the unexpired term of former Mayor Jim Milburn, who passed away last year. Meeteetse Mayor Bill Yetter is also up for re-election, and is running unopposed.
There are races in all three of Powell’s Council wards – in Ward 1, Ernest Phipps and Steven Lensegrav are in the race; Scott Mangold and Michael Newton are vying for Ward 2, and Tawnya Peterson will face Timothy Sapp for Ward 3.
Cody’s City Council elections are more straightforward – Justin Baily will be running unopposed for Ward 1, but there will be a race for Ward 2, as both Heidi Rasmussen and Robin Berry are vying for that seat. And there would have been a race for Ward 3 between Diane Ballard and Terry Hinkle, but Hinkle withdrew his nomination last Friday.
And in Meeteetse, both Sheridan Trask and Corey Guthrie are running unopposed.

[There are no radio stations in the database]