Cody Math Teacher Wins Presidential Award

Cody Math Teacher Wins Presidential Award

Written by on February 14, 2022

A Cody teacher is one of two Wyoming educators selected to receive the most prestigious education awards offered in the United States in 2022.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (P.A.E.M.S.T.) is the highest recognition that K-12 mathematics, science, or computer science teachers can receive in the nation. Enacted by Congress in 1983, the program authorizes the President to award 108 math and science teachers each year in recognition of their contribution to excellent teaching and learning.

Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and the National Science Foundation. President Joe Biden made the winner’s announcement on Tuesday.

Courtesy PAEMST

Two Wyoming math teachers – Katie McCue of Cody and Craig Williams of Cheyenne – will receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching in 2022.

Each year, up to six finalists in each state are chosen for the award through a rigorous peer-review process. Then, the applications are forwarded to the National Science Foundation, where the final selection for the national Presidential Awardee is made.

Katie McCue has spent thirteen years working in Cody schools. She is currently a second-grade math teacher at Eastside Elementary.

McCue was informed of her nomination last year and spent this past year working to earn the honor.

“It is an honor to be selected for the Presidential Award in the area of mathematics and to join the ranks of other outstanding educators in mathematics and science education,” said McCue. “Being selected for this award is particularly meaningful because I believe in being a champion for education, and this award reinforces that my instruction is worth recognition. It is humbling even to be nominated for this prestigious award. I would like to thank all of my colleagues that have supported and mentored me.”

According to the P.A.E.M.S.T. website, Katie earned a B.S. in psychology from the University of Oregon and a M.A.T. in elementary education from Oregon State University. She is certified in preschool, K-12 reading, kindergarten through sixth grade English as a Second Language, and K-12 administration.

Currently, she is completing her Ed.D. in curriculum and instruction from the University of Wyoming.

The other winner, Craig Williams, is a fourth-grade math teacher at Buffalo Ridge Elementary in Cheyenne.

In one of his first public statements, recently sworn-in State Superintendent of Public Instruction Brian Schroeder commended the two Wyoming teachers.

“These teachers are not only leaders in their field, but they are an inspiration to students and colleagues alike,” said Schroeder. “I am truly proud of Craig and Katie for their dedication in teaching mathematics and their commitment to the students of Wyoming.”

The awardees come from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, and four U.S. territories. Each awardee will receive a certificate signed by President Biden and a $10,000 award from the N.S.F. Awardees will also travel to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony at a future date.

[There are no radio stations in the database]