Move Over Law Starts Sunday
Written by Andrew-Rossi on June 28, 2018
The new Wyoming law taking effect July 1 requires motorists to move over for maintenance, construction and utility workers on state roads.
Wyoming Transportation Department Director Bill Panos says the new law helps protect road workers on the job. The new law requires motorists to do what they currently do when encountering an emergency vehicle on the side of the road.
When a construction, maintenance or utility vehicle is stopped on a road with two or more lanes traveling the same direction, motorists must move to the farthest lane away from the stopped vehicle. On a two-lane road where speeds are 45 mph or greater, motorists must slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit.
Motorists can be fined $235 for failure to comply.